Day 1, It Starts–Life at “The Spa”

On Saturday, July 17th I woke up. It was the first of my 30-day “spa life.” How to begin?

I contemplated fasting. My eating habits had been a bit haywire this week, and I wanted to “detox.” Then I reconsidered. My first day at “the spa” should begin in a healthy manner–not a manner of deprivation or criticism.

I made my way downstairs and prepared a beautiful bowl of oatmeal with chia seeds, strawberries, a drizzle of agave syrup, and almond milk. So delicious! I’ve been thinking a bit about breakfast lately and wondering if it’s better for me to begin with oatmeal (a popular health blogger favorite) or something more savory like eggs. Will beginning my day with carbs lead to a day full of frenzied carb cramming? I guess I will have to experiment and listen to my body as the month goes on.

a delicious spa breakfast!

I watched the British Open with my dad for awhile before heading up to my “workout room” for some yoga. My “workout room” is actually my brother’s old room where I hooked up a tv and dvd player and piled up my workout equipment and DVDs. My dad’s house is hot. I don’t know what the deal is, but even with the air conditioning on, it never seems to get cool. I don’t know if the AC is just too old or something, but when I mentioned the temperature of the house to my dad, he got very defensive as though I had threatened his manhood or his abilities as a provider. I guess it’s a sensitive subject, so I’ll just sweat in silence!

I loved my yoga workout. For some reason, I had it in my head that I couldn’t do yoga. I had lost the ability with the additional five pounds (I KNOW! It’s a ridiculous thought). However, I was so thrilled to be proven wrong. I loved this video, and I stood up straighter and felt strong for the rest of the day. It was reinvigorating for my soul.

I met John for a trip into NYC to see The Kids are All Right. It’s not playing in our area, so we jumped at the chance to make a day of it in the city. For some reason, I don’t have any NYC items on my “spa plans,” so I can’t check anything off yet. No worries.

Any trip with my boyfriend is dotted with coffee stops. We had one stop before the movie (I had an iced soy latte) and one stop after (where I enjoyed a skinny chai to tide me over until we could find a dinner destination).

The Kids Are All Right is fantastic. It’s critically acclaimed, so I’m sure my accolades mean very little, but it was so interesting for me to see a long-term marriage and the family that grows out of it. My parents divorced when I was fairly young, so I didn’t get to see the natural shifts and changes married people experience throughout a long relationship, and I like learning about them. The movie was very real and uncomfortable at points but definitely worth the trip.

After the movie and Coffee Stop 2, we decided to walk around the city and find a place to eat. We decided to eat at L’Ecole, the restaurant for the French Culinary Institute. I had a two-second panic when I realized that the menu was a tasting menu. Who turns over a new leaf by indulging in a crazy French meal???

Well, luckily in my years of dieting, exercising, and reading all kinds of books about those subjects, I have managed to learn a thing or two. I took a deep breath and decided to follow the advice of one of my fave Housewives (yes, I know…)–“Taste Everything, Eat Nothing.” (Thanks, Bethenny!) Just because I was eating at a restaurant doesn’t mean that I had to suction the food off my plate.

My meal included tastes of a delicious tomato and goat cheese appetizer, a beautiful salmon course with spinach and spaghetti squash rosti, pork with risotto, and all of the berries and sorbet off a rice pudding dessert course along with a 1/2 glass of Gruner Vetliner. I savored every bite and left the restaurant feeling satisfied but not stuffed. It was a good exercise–I can go out, eat gourmet food, and feel completely at ease with my decisions.

After waiting for the subway forever (budget cuts), we got the train home and made it into bed around 2AM with plans to get up early for a bike ride. Spa Day 1: Success.

About Heather

I'm a literature-loving adventurer.
This entry was posted in 30 Day Spa, Breakfast, Dinner, Soul. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

